top of page
Writer's picturePranita Vishwakarma

The whole story behind this picture and racism faced by George Mclaurin story

Racism is the most common problem of every country or society where the majority tends to rule over the minority, no matter what is the base of that it could be color, caste, religion, language, region, or wealth. Therefore sometimes people cross the limit of persecution just to prove themself or their people that they are greater than others or have more rights. The thought behind that sick racism is "someone must rule over someone" and it's no wonder why. this mentality is passed from our ancestors. They had a simple rule of living if u dont rule you will become the person who can be ruled over.



One of the greatest yet decent examples you can see in the picture, the person who is sitting in the corner alone is George Mclaurin, the first black man admitted to the University of Oklahoma in 1948, was forced to sit in a corner far from his white classmates.


However, even facing that discriminative behavior this man manage to secure his position as one of the three best students of the university. His name remains on the honor roll of the university.


These are his words: "some colleagues would look at me like I was an animal. No one would give me a word, the teachers seemed like they were not even there for me, nor did they always take interest in the question I asked. But, I devoted myself so much that afterward. They began to look for me to give them an explanation and to Clear their questions.


Yorumlar


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page